Christian Crawlers 4x4 Club

Who's Your Spotter?

Club Forum

Forum Home > Trail Talk > Jeep Rollover

Trailfrog
Site Owner

Larry found this and asked me to post it.  Sometimes it doesn't take much to roll it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7mcT2mnlBPQ&feature=player_embedded

June 27, 2011 at 1:13 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Hemi
Limited Member

Wow. Hope everyone was allright.

That was an XJ wasn't it?

Looks to me like he had a cooler up over the spare, had a 5-6" lift, and was top heavy. Did not appear to be aired down, was not locked in back,, and he didn't hit the gas or turn his wheels to the right and left. When he rolled back, his left rear tire hit a rut, and when it slid and hit the side of the rut with the wheel, the anguler momentum had to go somewhere and he flipped.

Did I get that right, know I am a noob but I do listen.

One reason I like the JKs, you don't need a big lift to fit 35s. Feel so sorry for him though

June 27, 2011 at 1:54 PM Flag Quote & Reply

arveetek

That was a TJ.  XJ's are Cherokees.

Yep, he let it slip back to far, hit the brakes, and his left rear wheel fell into a hole, causing him to tip.  Scary indeed.

Seeing stuff like that is making me lose my desire to do much more wheeling.  It's not so much "if" you roll, it's "when!"  ;-)

--

95 Chevy Tahoe 2 door, 6.5L turbodiesel, 285/75R16 Kenda Klever M/T's on Toyota steelies, some other goodies.  Overlanding Fun

June 27, 2011 at 2:13 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Hemi
Limited Member

Meant YJ. Sorry

June 27, 2011 at 2:20 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Trailfrog
Site Owner

Hemi at June 27, 2011 at 2:20 PM

Meant YJ. Sorry

No the YJ's have the square headlights, this was a TJ.

June 27, 2011 at 7:45 PM Flag Quote & Reply

SuperD
Limited Member

stuff happens, thats part of the thrill.

was all driver error, should have steered into it when backing up, also should have been in reverse, a foot full of throttle could have prevented that

June 28, 2011 at 10:42 AM Flag Quote & Reply